News & Information



  • Judge J. M. George Memorial Award
    This award, named in memory of Judge George, recognizes individuals providing outstanding services in the health care field in Manitoba, particularly those of a voluntary nature. Nominees may be volunteers with health facility auxiliaries, paid staff members of health care organizations who have served above and beyond the call of duty, volunteers or other individuals with noteworthy contributions to health care.

    Judge George, a Past-President of the Manitoba Hospital Association (forerunner to MHO and Regional Health Authorities of Manitoba - RHAM) and former legal counsel to the Association, was well known for his many contributions to health care, particularly in the area of accreditation. He was also noted for his involvement with the Canadian Hospital (now Canadian Healthcare) and American Hospital Associations.

    This Award is presented annually by the Regional Health Authorities of Manitoba – RHAM

  • Canadian Healthcare Association (CHA) Award of Distinguished Service
    CHA's Award for Distinguished Service has a long and storied history. First known as the George Findlay Stephens Memorial Award, the award was established by the Canadian Hospital Council (now the Canadian Healthcare Association) in 1949 to honour the memory of Dr. Stephens who died in 1948 at the age of 63. In 1932, a year after the Canadian Hospital Council was established, he was the first Canadian to be elected president of the American Hospital Association. For five years, during the Second World War, he was president of the Canadian Hospital Council. In 1946, he was the first recipient of the American Hospital Association's Award of Merit. For many years, Dr. Stephens was CEO of the Winnipeg General Hospital, and in 1940, he was appointed CEO of the Royal Victoria Hospital in Montreal.

    June 1991 saw the establishment of the Award of Excellence for Service and Leadership by the Board of Directors of the then Canadian Hospital Association.

    In November 1997, the Board of Directors of the Canadian Healthcare Association changed the name of the award to Award for Distinguished Service.

    Only candidates nominated by an Active Member of CHA, that is, a provincial/territorial hospital/health organization that belongs to CHA, of which RHAM is a member, are considered eligible. The Canadian Healthcare Association (CHA) is the federation of provincial and territorial hospital and health organizations across Canada. Through its members, CHA represents a broad continuum of care, including acute care, home and community care, long term care, public health, mental health, palliative care, addiction services, children, youth and family services, and housing services. These services are provided through regional health authorities, hospitals and other facilities and agencies that serve all Canadians and are governed by trustees who act in the public interest.

    The CHA was founded in 1931 and historically represented provincial and territorial hospital associations at the national level. In 1995, its name was changed from the Canadian Hospital Association to the Canadian Healthcare Association to reflect the broad scope of the association's membership. Effective January 1, 2007, the Canadian Association for Community Care was integrated with the Canadian Healthcare Association.

    CHA is a leader in developing, and advocating for, health policy solutions that meet the needs of Canadians. CHA's Professional Development programs, conference and publishing services contribute to this leadership. CHA is committed to a publicly funded health system that provides access to a continuum of comparable health services throughout Candad.


    2005 - Steven Lewis, Saskatchewan
    2006 - Jean-Claude Martin, Quebec
    2007 - W.F. (Rick) Roger, British Columbia
    2008 - Dr. Nuala Kenny, O.C., Nova Scotia
    2009 - Murray Ramsden, British Columbia
    2010 - Louise Jones, Newfoundland and Labrador
    2011 - Lucille Auffrey, New Brunswick
    2012 - Arlene Wilgosh, Manitoba

    * A complete list of previous winners is available on the Canadian Healthcare Association's website:

    In 2012, Arlene Wilgosh, Chief Executive Officer of the Winnipeg Regional Health Authority (WRHA), was nominated by the Regional Health Authorities of Manitoba (RHAM) Council of Chairs and CEOs and Arlene was awarded the Award for Distinguished Service at a special ceremony held in June, 2012 in Halifax in conjunction with CHA's Annual General Meeting. The RHAM Board and Council of Chairs congratulate Arlene on this very prestigious and deserving award.
  © 2002 RHAM | Conditions of Use